AIA 2009 Honor Awards

Washington, D.C. – January 8, 2009 – The American Institute of Architects (AIA) have selected the 2009 recipients of the AIA Institute Honor Awards, the profession’s highest recognition of works that exemplify excellence in architecture, interior architecture and urban design. Selected from over 700 total submissions, 25 recipients located throughout the world will be honored in April at the AIA 2009 National Convention and Design Exposition in San Francisco.

2009 Institute Honor Awards for Architecture:

The 2009 Institute Honor Awards for Architecture recognize nine unique projects. The types of projects range from cathedrals to trend-setting residential projects. These projects have a tremendous impact on the social and physical fabric of the communities they serve. Many were designed with budget constraints and a number of projects were a reuse of existing buildings or an integration of old with new. Jury members include: Jury Chair David Lake, FAIA, Lake | Flato Architects; Carlton Brown, Full Spectrum of New York; Michael B. Lehrer, FAIA, Lehrer Architects; James J. Malanaphy, III, AIA, The 160 Group, Ltd; Paul Mankins, FAIA, Substance Architecture Interiors Design; Anna McCorvey, AIAS Director, Northeast Quad; Anne Schopf, FAIA, Mahlum Architects; Suman Sorg, FAIA, Sorg and Associates, P.C.; and Denise Thompson, Assoc. AIA, Francis Cauffman.

Basilica of the Assumption, Baltimore
John G. Waite Associates, Architects PLLC
Cathedral of Christ the Light, Oakland, California
Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP
Charles Hostler Student Center, Beirut, Lebanon
The Gary Comer Youth Center, Chicago
John Ronan Architects
Horno³: Museo del Acero, Monterey, Mexico
Grimshaw Architects
The Lavin-Bernick Center for University Life, New Orleans
The New York Times Building, New York City
Renzo Piano Building Workshop and FXFowle Architects
Plaza Apartments, San Francisco
Leddy Maytum Stacy Architects & Paulett Taggart Architects, in association
Salt Point House, Salt Point, New York
Thomas Phifer and Partners

2009 Institute Honor Awards for Interior Architecture

The 2009 Institute Honor Awards for Interior Architecture recognize 10 projects. The jury was drawn to projects that skillfully used natural light and provided unique architectural approaches to common design problems. Jury members include: Jury Chair Mark P. Sexton, FAIA, Krueck & Sexton Architects; Joan Blumenfeld, FAIA, Perkins + Will; Elisabeth Knibbe, AIA, Quinn Evans Architects; Arvind Manocha, Los Angeles Philharmonic Association; and Kevin Sneed, AIA, OTJ Architects.

Barclays Global Investors Headquarters, San Francisco
STUDIOS Architecture
Chronicle Books , San Francisco
Mark Cavagnero Associates
The Heckscher Foundation for Children, New York City
Christoff:Finio architecture
Jigsaw, Washington, D.C.
David Jameson Architect
R.C. Hedreen, Seattle
School of American Ballet, New York City
Diller Scofidio + Renfro
Sheila C. Johnson Design Center, New York City
Lyn Rice Architects
Tishman Speyer Corporate Headquarters, New York City
Lehman Smith McLeish
Town House, Washington, D.C.
Robert M. Gurney, FAIA
World Headquarters for IFAW—Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
designLAB architects

2009 Institute Honor Award for Regional and Urban Design

Six projects were selected to receive the 2009 Institute Honor Award for Regional and Urban Design. The projects range from singular buildings with an impact on the urban context, to zoning codes and master plan projects, to designs for entirely new cities. The 2009 Institute Honor Awards for Regional and Urban Design Jury included: Jury Chair Jonathan J. Marvel, AIA, Rogers Marvel Architects PLLC; Samuel Assefa, Assoc. AIA, City of Chicago, Department of Planning and Development; Tim Love, AIA, Utile Inc. / Architecture + Planning; Ivenue Love-Stanley, FAIA, Stanley Love-Stanley PC; and Stephanie Reich, AIA, City of Glendale, Planning Division.

Foshan Donghuali Master Plan, Guangdong, China
Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP
Orange County Great Park, Irvine, California
TEN Arquitectos
Between Neighborhood Watershed & Home, Fayetteville, Arkansas
University of Arkansas Community Design Center
Southworks Lakeside Chicago Development, Chicago
Sasaki Associates, Inc. and Skidmore, Owings & Merrill, LLP
The Central Park of the New Radiant City, Guangming New Town, China
Lee + Mundwiler Architects
Treasure Island Master Plan, San Francisco
Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP

If you would like to learn more about these projects or view images of them, please contact Matt Tinder at