2005 Specialty Remodeling Top 200

Exterior remodeling specialists are remodelers. But they are also a breed apart. They typically complete hundreds of relatively small jobs per year that average in size between $8,000 and $10,000. Therefore, the emphasis for specialty remodelers is, and always has been, on marketing, sales and production efficiency. This new section devoted to Specialty Remodeling will appear in Qualified Remodeler four times in 2006. Each issue will focus on these main aspects of the roofing, siding, windows, doors, decks and sunrooms business.

This month, we launch our Specialty Remodeling section with a new annual listing of the 200 largest specialty remodelers in the country, The Specialty 200. Beyond their size, these companies also lead in other ways. They are the early adopters of best practices that are improving the overall specialty remodeling climate. Over time, we plan to bring you their stories of growth and excellence. Completing jobs that account for as much as 20 percent of the remodeling market, exterior specialty remodelers deserve the special attention.

The Specialty 200 - 2005

Exterior specialty remodelers have turned to Qualified Remodeler for news, products and business trends for over 30 years. For more than 25 years, they have tracked the progress of the largest specialty firms in our annual listing of the Top 500 remodeling companies nationwide. But increasingly, specialty remodelers deserve more: more information about their market, and more information about their peers. That is why we've compiled the largest listing of just specialty remodelers, The Specialty 200.

The specialty remodeling segment is huge. It represented an estimated 20 percent of the overall remodeling market in 2003, according to statistics from Harvard University's Joint Center for Housing Studies' Remodeling Futures program. This list is comprised of those companies that focus on window replacements, siding, roofing and doors, as well as decks and sunrooms. There are some companies on the list who offer additional services, but their core operation involves one or more of these activities.

To be sure, insurance restoration companies are specialists; so too are, cabinet refacing firms, bath refinishers, and many others. But roofing, siding, windows and decks comprise the main activities of companies that operate and market themselves similarly.

Crunch Time

In 2004, The Specialty 200 completed 357,787 jobs representing $2.4 billion in revenues. The average Specialty 200 company completed 1,825 jobs for $11.9 million in revenue. Lastly, the median sized company on the list did $5.9 million in revenue on 278 jobs.

The $2.4 billion in completed jobs last year represents 8.64 percent of the total estimated size of the roofing, siding, window/door and decking/porch categories, which totaled $27.54 billion in 2003, including more than $6 billion in Do-It-Yourself projects. The total dollar volume from professionally installed decks/porches, windows/doors, siding and roofing projects totaled $21.36 billion. The firms that comprise the first annual Specialty 200 tallied 11.14 percent of that total.

Rank Company Name Location Website 2004 Volume
1 Champion Window & Patio Room Co. Cincinnati, OH www.championwindow.com $280,275,626
2 Window World, Inc. North Wilkesboro, NC www.windowworldinc.com $136,554,230
3 Patio Enclosures, Inc. Macedonia, OH www.patioenclosuresinc.com $103,561,841
4 U.S. Home Systems, Inc. Lewisville, TX www.ushomesystems.com $87,497,527
5 Thermoview Industries, Inc. Louisville, KY www.thermoviewinc.com $68,861,000
6 K-Designers Gold River, CA www.k-designers.com $56,806,698
7 Archadeck Richmond, VA www.archadeck.com $42,088,606
8 Castle, “The Window People”, Inc. Mt. Laurel, NJ www.castlethewindowpeople.com $37,592,578
9 Mark Four Enterprises, Inc. Fairfield, NJ www.homeremodelersgroup.com $36,857,978
10 Windowizard Levittown, PA N/A $36,128,718
11 Mid-Atlantic Waterproofing Laurel, MD www.basements.com $35,691,566
12 Homefix Corporation South Orange, NJ www.homefixcorporation.com $30,062,000
13 Win-Dor, Inc. Anaheim, CA www.windor-online.com $29,979,025
14 Statewide Windows Mukilteo, WA www.statewideinc.com $28,952,658
15 Thermo-Tite Window Systems Port Chester, NY www.thermo-tite.com $26,578,370
16 Brothers Home Improvement, Inc. Roseville, CA www.brothershomeimp.com $25,868,356
17 Total Remodeling Corp. Union, NJ www.totalremodeling.com $25,250,456
18 Gilkey Window Co. Cincinnati, OH www.gilkey.com $25,004,902
19 St. Clair Corporation St. Louis, MO www.stclaircorp.com $21,235,000
20 Accent Windows, Inc. Westminster, CO www.accentwindows.com $21,125,978
21 Home Improvement King North Hills, CA www.homeimprovementking.com $20,955,000
22 Garden State Brickface, Windows & Siding Roselle, NJ www.brickface.com $20,517,816
23 American Exteriors, Inc. Littleton, CO www.americanexteriorsinc.com $19,239,415
24 American Siding & Window Systems Urbandale, IA www.american-co.com $18,296,343
25 Stanek Vinyl Window Corp. Cuyahoga Heights, OH www.stanekwindows.com $17,672,638
26 Jemstar Construction, Inc. dba Jemstar Builders Orange, CA www.jemstarbuilders.net $17,028,103
27 American Vision Windows, Inc. Simi Valley, CA www.americanvisionwindows.com $16,756,890
28 All American Siding & Windows of Dallas Inc. Richardson, TX www.allamericansiding.com $16,522,867
29 Statewide Remodeling Grand Prairie, TX www.statewideremodeling.com $15,855,614
30 Northwest Exteriors Inc. Rancho Cordova, CA www.northwestexteriors.com $15,670,000
31 Melani Bros., Inc. Yorktown, VA www.melanibros.com $15,364,533
32 P.J. Fitzpatrick, Inc. New Castle, DE www.pjfitz.com $15,358,532
33 American Home Design, Inc. Goodlettsville, TN www.americanhomedesign.com $15,216,751
34 Dial One Santa Ana, CA www.dialonewindows.com $15,003,883
35 American Home Craft, Inc. San Diego, CA www.ahcionline.com $14,744,567
36 Paramount Builders, Inc. Virginia Beach, VA www.paramountbuilders.com $14,582,087
37 Thermo-Twin Industries, Inc. Oakmont, PA www.thermotwin.com $14,399,136
38 American Home Renewal, Inc. South San Francisco, CA www.renewal.com $14,376,559
39 The Affordable Company, Inc. Burien, WA www.affordable-windows.com $14,200,000
40 Power Windows and Siding Brookhaven, PA www.powerwindowsinc.com $13,958,000
41 Metropolitan Siding & Windows Waldorf, MD www.metrowin.com $13,672,132
42 Renewal by Andersen Colorado Colorado Springs, CO www.renewalbyandersen.com $12,873,454
43 Renaissance Doors & Windows Fullerton, CA www.rdandw.com $12,806,019
44 Primax Window Co. Louisville, KY www.thv.com $12,118,239
45 Dalco Home Remodeling Bridgeton, MO www.dalcohomeremodeling.com $11,958,000
46 State Roofing Monroe, WA www.stateroofing.com $11,944,659
47 Farm & Home Builders Des Moines, IA www.farm-and-home.com $11,752,435
48 Larmco Windows, Inc. Valley View, OH www.larmco.com $11,400,000
49 The Carolina Building Group Charlotte, NC www.carolinabuildinggroup.com $11,314,924
50 Rolox, Inc. Grandview, MO www.rolox.com $11,000,000
51 Custom Remodelers Inc. Lind Lakes, MN www.customremodelersinc.com $10,984,372
52 California Replacement Windows Inc. Anaheim, CA N/A $10,674,183
53 Window Concepts of Minnesota Eagan, MN www.windowconcepts.com $10,629,973
54 Budget Exteriors, Inc. Bloomington, MN www.budgetexteriors.com $10,598,614
55 Rosati Windows Columbus, OH www.rosatiwindows.com $10,492,706
56 Paramount Improvements, Inc. Flint, MI www.paramountimprovements.com $10,412,880
57 Tri-State Home Improvement, LLC Branford, CT www.tshomeimprove.com $10,248,000
58 Bay Area Remodelers, Inc. Clearwater, FL www.bayarearemodelers.com $10,221,820
59 American Eagle Builders Supply, Inc. Arlington, TX www.americaneaglebuilders.com $9,828,339
60 Unique Window & Door Indianapolis, IN www.uniquewindowanddoor.com $9,779,354
61 Euro-Tech, Inc. Bensenville, IL www.eurotechinc.net $9,774,864
62 Mr. Rogers Windows Chesapeake, VA www.mrrogerswindows.com $9,507,403
63 Waller Construction Inc. Lakeland, FL www.wallergroup.com $9,371,000
64 WCCR Home Improvements Walnut, CA www.wccr.com $9,320,000
65 Pitcher Perfect Siding & Window Co. Inc. East Peoria, IL www.dontpaint.com $9,175,106
66 Selig Construction Corporation Chico, CA www.seligconstruction.com $8,484,782
67 All American Builders, Inc. Hurst, TX allamericanbuilders.com $8,457,292
68 Rhode Island Home Improvement Inc. Warwick, RI www.rihi.com $8,240,700
69 American Home Exteriors, Inc. Overland Park, KS www.aheinc.com $7,949,700
70 K & H Windows & Exteriors, Inc. Arvada, CO www.khwindows.com $7,762,500
71 WeatherTite Windows Youngstown, OH www.weathertitewindows.com $7,600,473
72 A Cut Above Siding & Windows Portland, OR www.acutaboveexteriors.com $7,591,009
73 Advantage Remodeling Corporation Baltimore, MD www.advantageremodelingconstruction.com $7,582,500
74 Royal Windows & Siding, Inc. Royal, AR www.royalwindows.com $7,371,288
75 Designer Sash and Door Systems Inc. Perris, CA www.windowinstall.com $7,321,126
76 Thompson Creek Window Co. Stevensville, MD www.thompsoncreek.com $7,292,010
77 American Home Improvements, LLC. Knoxville, TN americanhomeimprove.com $7,278,317
78 American Design and Build, LTD. Bel Air, MD www.adbuild.com $7,268,744
79 M & I Windows, Inc. San Diego, CA www.mandiwindows.com $7,215,000
80 Prince William Home Improvement Woodbridge, VA www.PWHomeImprovement.com $7,179,102
81 DreamHome Remodeling, Inc. Springfield , VA www.dhremodeling.com $7,146,370
82 Ohio Builder Resources Westerville, OH www.ohio-resources.com $7,121,021
83 Siding-1 Windows-1 Chicago, IL www.siding-1.com $6,996,280
84 Weather Tight Corp. Franklin, WI www.weathertightcorp.com $6,954,125
85 Ambassador Home Improvements Inc. Harrisburg, PA www.ambassador-home.com $6,818,000
86 Tim White Remodeling Inc. Lindenhurst, NY N/A $6,752,000
87 Sound Glass Sales Inc. Tacoma, WA www.soundglass.com $6,750,069
88 Insulators of Maryland, Inc. Burtonsville, MD www.iomd.com $6,703,000
89 America's Best Home Remodeler's, Inc. Golden, CO www.abhri.com $6,582,214
90 D.A. Home Improvements, Inc. Wyanootte, MI N/A $6,543,882
91 Modern Remodeling, Inc. Manassas, VA www.modernremodelinginc.com $6,518,400
92 Schmidt Siding & Window Co. Mankato, MN www.sswc-mankato.com $6,478,747
93 Cramer Siding & Window Co. Champaign, IL www.cramersiding.com $6,446,830
94 Energy Saving Exteriors Inc. Virginia Beach, VA www.esehome.com $6,426,416
95 Pinnacle Energy, Inc. Columbia , MD www.pinnacleenergyinc.com $6,341,019
96 Atlantis Waterproofing, Inc. Woodbridge, NJ www.atlantiswaterproofing.net $6,266,944
97 Cal-Tec Construction Fresno, CA www.caltecconstruction.com $6,221,621
98 Peoria Siding & Window Washington, IL www.peoriasiding.com $6,207,280
99 Revive Home Improvement Showrooms Columbus, OH www.reviveshowrooms.com $6,110,575
100 Richard Larson Builders, Inc. Hutchinson, MN www.larsonbuilders.com $5,962,661
101 Lifetime Siding and Remodeling Inc. dba ABC Seamless Hastings Hastings, MN N/A $5,822,000
102 Leingang Home Center Mamdam, ND www.leingang.com $5,808,807
103 Rembrandt Remodeling Marietta, GA www.rembrandtremodeling.com $5,800,000
104 Maine Window & Sunroom, Inc. Kennebunk, ME www.mainewindowsunroom.com $5,662,537
105 Cal Bath Renovations Newport Beach, CA www.calbath.com $5,631,460
106 America's Window LLC Borden, IN www.americaswindowusa.com $5,587,486
107 The Southard Corporation Great Bend, KS www.southardcorp.com $5,531,497
108 Minnesota Rusco, Inc. Minnetonka, MN www.minnesotarusco.com $5,513,800
109 Braymiller Builders of W.N.Y. Inc. Hamburg, NY www.braymillerbuilders.com $5,480,446
110 Wingler & Sons Construction Columbus, OH www.winglerconstruction.com $5,434,914
111 Home Town Restyling, Inc. Hiawatha, IA www.hometownrestyling.com $5,415,693
112 All-Seal Home Improvement, Inc. Dayton, OH www.allseal.com $5,394,476
113 Pacific Builders Sacramento, CA www.pacificbuilders.com $5,386,849
114 Carolina Winodws and Doors, Inc. Greenville, NC www.carolinawindowsanddoors.com $5,344,964
115 Custom Development of California Sacramento, CA www.customdevelopmentofcalifornia.com $5,274,653
116 Kaz Brothers Construction West Seneca, NY www.kazbrothers.net $5,245,000
117 Graves Bros. Home Improvement Co. Rochester, NY www.gravesbros.com $5,237,759
118 Larson Siding & Windows Rochester, MN www.larsonsidingandwindows.com $5,186,223
119 Renaissance Exteriors Maple Grove, MN www.homebetterment.com $5,182,000
120 Allentown Window Pros Allentown, PA www.windowprosinc.com $5,045,868
121 Joe Percario Enterprise Inc. Roselle, NJ www.percario.com $4,956,000
122 AAA Remodeling Company St. Louis, MO www.aaaremodeling.com $4,894,581
123 1st Choice Home Improvements, Inc. Pensacola, FL www.1stchoicehomeimprovements.com $4,854,247
124 Lundberg Windows & Siding, Inc. Charlotte, NC www.lundbergwindows.com $4,848,497
125 Bob Showers Windows & Sunrooms, Inc. Philipsburg, PA www.bobshowers.com $4,844,236
126 Carolina Home Remodeling Charlotte, NC www.carolinahomeremodeling.com $4,832,456
127 Squires Construction Co. Macedonia, OH www.squiresconstruction.com $4,827,835
128 Suburban Construction, Inc. Davenport, IA www.suburbanconstruction.com $4,726,000
129 Teeters Construction Columbus, OH www.teetersconstruction.com $4,571,269
130 Coastal Empire Exteriors Savannah, GA www.sunnyroom.com $4,511,243
131 Archadeck of Charlotte Charlotte, NC www.archadeckofcharlotte.com $4,416,275
132 Residential Specialists, Inc. Albany, NY www.sidingwindows.com $4,391,000
133 Swing Line Windows, Inc. Pittsburgh, PA www.swinglinewindows.com $4,359,568
134 Doerr Siding & Remodeling Inc. East Peoria, IL www.doerrsiding.com $4,317,000
135 Northwest First Choice, Inc. Vancouver, WA   $4,282,113
136 Jancewicz & Son Bellows Falls, VT www.roofsplus.com $4,268,104
137 Weather Guard, Inc. Cincinnati, OH www.weatherguardonline.com $4,255,417
138 Midtown Home Improvements St. Peters, MO www.midtownstl.com $4,232,330
139 Toledo Door and Window Toledo, OH www.toledodoor.com $4,193,269
140 Fick Bros. Roofing & Exterior Remodeling Co. Baltimore , MD www.fickbros.com $4,144,304
141 Patriot Roofing Industries, Inc. St. Petersburg, FL N/A $4,128,560
142 Midwest Construction & Supply, Inc. Mason City, IA www.mwcinc.com $4,051,152
143 America's #1 Remodeler Akron, OH www.americasremodeler.com $4,041,875
144 Advanced Home Technologies, Inc. Clintonville, WI www.ahtwindows.com $4,031,583
145 Anthony Home Improvements Elkins Park, PA www.anthonyhomeimprovement.com $4,020,471
146 Nova Exteriors Vienna, VA www.novaexteriors.com $4,012,485
147 MEGA Home Improvement Algonquin, IL www.megapros.com $3,874,500
148 Fairbanks Construction Ocala, FL www.fairbanksconstruction.com $3,861,189
149 Custom View Windows & Doors, Inc. Tucson, AZ www.customview.net $3,783,264
150 RJW Contracting LLC Pompton Lakes, NJ www.rjwcontracting.com $3,737,952
151 Solvay Glass of CNY LLC Syracuse, NY www.solvayglass.com $3,728,995
152 A.B.E. Doors & Windows Allentown, PA www.abedoors.com $3,679,508
153 Air Shield Inc. Ballwin, MO N/A $3,639,540
154 Maggio Roofing Takoma Park, MD www.maggioroofing.com $3,518,366
155 Just Exteriors, Inc. Wapp Falls, NY N/A $3,407,000
156 Anchor Siding & Window Fairview Heights, IL www.anchorsiding.com $3,395,830
157 P.F. Reilly & Co., Inc. Chico, CA www.pfreilly.com $3,349,000
158 Benchmark Windows, Inc. Lakewood, CO www.odysseywindows.com $3,334,377
159 Allied Aluminum Products Inc. Annandale, VA www.thewindowcenter.com $3,331,641
160 First Coast Rainguard Jacksonville, FL www.firstcoastrainguard.com $3,331,245
161 Cassell Builder Group DBA Variety Windows & Exteriors Springfield, VA www.varietywindows.com $3,270,448
162 Energy Exteriors Tacoma, WA www.energyexteriors.com $3,252,627
163 All County Exteriors Lakewood, NJ www.allcountyexteriors.com $3,250,000
164 Rescom Exteriors Inc. Auburn, MD www.rescomexteriors.com $3,188,455
165 Home Energy Center Plymouth, MN www.homeenergycenter.com $3,133,615
166 Clear Choice Remodeling Inc. Livermore, CA www.clearchoicewindows.com $3,114,315
167 Sylvain Contracting Plaistow, NH www.sylvaincontracting.com $3,091,000
168 Jacob Sunroom & Exteriors Fairview Heights, IL www.jacobsunroom.com $3,025,752
169 Home-Pro Remodeling, Inc. Centreville, VA www.hpremodeling.com $3,018,204
170 Total Home Construction Corp. Plaiview, NY www.totalhomeconstruction.com $3,012,588
171 Cuvee Kitchen Designs, Inc. Glenshaw, PA N/A $3,009,586
172 Vinyl Tech, Inc. Poughkeepsie, NY www.valleyviewdesign.com $2,965,945
173 Asher Enterprises, Inc. Eau Claire, WI www.asherenterprises.com $2,957,937
174 Vekton Corporation Penfield, NY www.vekton.com $2,955,539
175 American Home Center, Inc. Beltsville, MD www.ahc-inc.net $2,930,266
176 Home Specialists / ABC Seamless Madison, WI www.abchomespecialists.com $2,882,727
177 American Home Remodeling Inc. Corona, CA www.ahrsunrooms.com $2,840,213
178 ABC Seamless of Cheyenne Cheyenne, WY www.abccheyenne.com $2,836,000
179 Elk Remodeling Inc. Fairfax, VA www.elkremodeling.com $2,817,463
180 Budd Severino Advanced Home Exteriors, Inc. Daytona Beach, FL www.bsahe.com $2,807,322
181 Exterior Energy Consultants, Inc. Gladstone, MO N/A $2,801,819
182 UNI Design, Inc. Greeley, CO www.uni-design.com $2,780,847
183 Weatherguard Systems Inc. New London, WI www.weatherguardsystems.com $2,645,155
184 Atlantic Remodeling Baltimore , MD www.atlanticremodeling.com $2,586,369
185 American Construction Co. Indianapolis, IN N/A $2,579,630
186 Mr Build Inc Bradenton, FL N/A $2,560,641
187 All States Windows & Siding, LLC Wichita, KS www.allstateswindows-siding.com $2,533,000
188 Buschurs Home Improvement Center Dayton, OH www.buschurs.com $2,513,142
189 Sun City Replacement Windows Las Vegas, NV www.suncitywindows.com $2,511,468
190 Home Solutions Midwest Albert Lea, MN www.homesolutions.com $2,436,143
191 Weather-Tek Home Remodeling Dunellen, NJ www.weathertek.net $2,422,000
192 Sullivan's Cleaning & Restoration Green Bay, WI N/A $2,353,189
193 Murphy Home Improvement Inc. Cincinnati, OH www.murphywindowsandsiding.com $2,349,101
194 Istveta Roofing Corp. Miami, FL www.istvetaroofing.com $2,286,849
195 Tri-State Siding & Windows Inc. Davenport, IA www.tristatecompany.com $2,257,367
196 Sandia Sunrooms, Inc. Albuquerque, NM www.sandiasunrooms.com $2,235,582
197 Exterior Concepts, Inc. Edgewater, MD www.exteriorconcepts.com $2,230,740
198 Fanth-Curry Home Improvement Co., Inc. Rock Island, IL www.fanthcurry.com $2,204,000
199 JB & D Siding & Window Galesburg, IL www.jbdsiding.com $2,148,278
200 Southwest Exteriors San Antonio, TX www.southwestexteriors.com $2,110,573

Loading