NKBA announces student kitchen design winners

HACKETTSTOWN, NJ and SAN FRANCISCO, CA (March 26, 2009) - The National Kitchen & Bath Association (NKBA) and GE today announced the winners of the 2009 NKBA/GE Charette Competition, which awards students over $25,000 in scholarships. This competition recognizes students who each demonstrate kitchen design skill by planning a safe, functional kitchen within a three-hour period. “We are always amazed by the winning entries,” said Brandon Hochhalter, CKD, Market Development Manager for GE. "They’re a testament to the skill and preparedness of students studying at NKBA-accredited colleges across North America to work in the kitchen industry."

More than 450 students from 28 colleges participated in this challenge, which tests students’ ability to think and apply their knowledge of kitchen design by producing a floorplan with specifications, a design statement, and a perspective or elevation of a kitchen featuring GE appliances—all within three hours. Each of the 28 colleges chose up to three local winners to award $50 each. “The NKBA is grateful to GE for its continued support of this competition” said Sherylin Doyle, AKBD, Manager of Academic Relations for the NKBA. "The challenge builds students’ confidence and their skills for success, which not only helps them when taking NKBA certification exams, but also ensures that the kitchen and bath industry will continue to offer a number of very qualified professionals in the future."

Some 73 local winners advanced to the national competition. The top student designers integrated GE Monogram series appliances, which offer commercial-grade features, into the design for their clients. Their clients were a couple who often cook together in the kitchen, require seating for six, and would like a television in their 22- x 13-foot kitchen. All designs had to adhere to the NKBA Planning Guidelines, as well as to NKBA Graphic and Presentation Standards. The winning designers successfully incorporated these elements into their creations, along with special features that impressed the judges. To view the winning designs, visit NKBA.org/Students.

The winning students are:

1st Place - $5,000
Pamela Berry, Lakeland College, Vermillion, AB Canada

2nd Place - $4,000
Matthew Lawrence, Alexandria Technical, Alexandria, MN

3rd Place - $3,000
Cindy Y. Lin, Boston Architectural College, Boston MA

4th Place - $2,500
Whitney Jamieson, Lakeland College, Vermillion, AB Canada

5th Place - $2,000
Dawnelle Sarlo, Brigham Young University-Idaho, Rexburg, ID

Honorable Mentions - $1,000 each
Lani Smith, Boston Architectural College, Boston, MA
Lacey Madsen, Brigham Young University – Idaho, Rexburg, ID
Carla Bell, San Diego Mesa College, San Diego, CA
Amanda Hagan, University of Nebraska at Kearney, Kearney, NE
Catherine Edwards, Virginia Polytechnic Institute, Blacksburg, VA

The finalists from each school were:

Alexandria Technical College, Alexandria, MN
Briana Bjerke, Matthew Lawrence, and Heidi Legatt

Arapahoe Community College, Littleton, CO
Bailey Brunetti, Jennifer Hogan, and Mindy Knaster

Baker College of Auburn Hills, Auburn Hills, MI
Larry Adams, Tania Narainen, and Kelly Nunn

Baker College of Clinton Township, Clinton Township, MI
Crystal Durocher and Sara Lawler

Boston Architectural College, Boston, MA
Cindy Y. Lin, Kerry Moser, and Lani Smith

Brigham Young University-Idaho, Rexburg, ID
Amber Horch, Lacey Madsen, and Dawnelle Sarlo

Cañada College, Redwood City, CA
Meredith Holley, Gabriela Rivas, and Lori Seubert

Century College, Minneapolis, MN
Jennifer Beckey, Sepia Edwards, and Keaton Frees

East Carolina University, Greenville, NC
Stacey Evans, Alexandra Overcash, and Megan Poteat

Johnson County Community College, Overland Park, KS
Rebecca Foran, Judy Near, and Rebecca Taylor

Lakeland College, Vermillion, AB Canada
Sara-Lynn Bater, Pamela Berry, and Whitney Jamieson

Lansing Community College, Lansing, MI
Julia Bagryantseva, Stephanie Cook, and Christopher Simmons

Louisville Technical Institute, Louisville, KY
Anthony Jackson and Patricia Kearfott

Montana State University Great Falls, MT
Misty Davison, Allison Dallmann, and Samantha Hall

Palm Beach Community College, Lake Worth, FL
Melody Smith, Carlos Toro, and Sana Zehra

Portland Community College-Sylvania Campus, Portland, OR
Autumn Burns, Patricia Dilworth, and Nikki Jeffers

San Diego Mesa College, San Diego, CA
Carla Bell, My Liang, and Donna Tran

Seminole Community College, Sanford, FL
Jennifer Patrick and Kristin Sellers

University of Georgia, Athens, GA
Elizabeth Sims, Heather Pyne, and Rachel Vaccaro

University of Nebraska @ Kearney, Kearney, NE
Amanda Hagan, Kari Mitchell, and Julia Mruz

University of North Alabama, Florence, AL
Ashley Ball, Lisa Culbertson, and Kit Wang Tsoi

University of Southern Mississippi, Hattiesburg, MS
Amanda Jeukens, Melissa Roberts, and Ashley Sumrall

Virginia Polytechnic Institute, Blacksburg, VA
Catherine Edwards, Traci Leonard, and Trevor Sakry

Weber State University, Ogden, UT
Ashley Holje, Pamela Lampert and Brandon Snow

Western Carolina University, Cullowhee, NC
Cyndey Woods

Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green, KY
Amanda Brown, Lisa Finn and Brandy Hill

For more information, visit NKBA.org/Students or contact NKBA Academic Relations Manager Sherylin Doyle, AKBD at 800-THE-NKBA (843-6522), x3793 or at sdoyle@nkba.org.