2011 AIA Portland Design Awards Winners

The American Institute of Architects Portland announced its annual awards for design excellence at a gala celebration at the Portland Art Museum Grand Ballroom. The awards recipients ranged from a Digital animation Building and Campus in Glendale, Calif., to an eight-story Portland residential center for homeless and low-income people. The twenty projects were selected by a prestigious jury composed of Merrill Elam, a principal at Mack Scogin Merrill Elam Architects, in Atlanta, Georgia; Lisa Iwamoto, a partner at IWAMOTOSCOTT Architecture in San Francisco, California; and Vanessa Kassabian, Director of Design at Norway-based Snøhetta’s New York City office.

Portland Mayor Sam Adams chose a recipient for the Mayor’s Award for Design Excellence and the public took part as well by casting their votes for the People’s Choice Award. The AIA also presented its 2011 AIA Intern of the Year to Diane Pu, Associate AIA, of ZGF Architects.

A total of fifteen projects were selected by the jury in the Built category - six honor awards, five merit awards, two citation awards, a sustainability award, and a craftsmanship award. Five Unbuilt awards were also given.

The full list of winners and selected quotes from the jury is available.